Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Halloween 2014: The Essential Regency/Gothic


 
I really wanted to produce some awesome Halloween content this year, but writing for Savage Insider, running a new The King is Dead campaign, promoting Steamscapes: Asia, and drinking my way through Texas Wine Month have kind of gotten in the way.  In lieu of new material, I present the following annotated list from the Wine and Savages archives.  Note that this is not a list of all of the Regency/Gothic posts, only the ones worth re-reading.

Regency/Gothic
One of my earliest projects on this blog was an attempt to write a supplement covering regency romances in the vein of Jane Austen, Georgette Heyer, and innumerable paperback authors.  I tried to Savage it up a bit by combining the Regency setting with the Gothic novels popular during the period. 

An introduction to the project and its themes.

My all-time most popular post (probably because of the pictures).  Contains Savage Worlds stats for Elizabeth Bennet, Fitzwilliam Darcy, and George Wickham.

NPC archetype stats for a variety of women.

NPC archetype stats for a variety of men.

Getting into the actual “Gothic” aspect of Regency/Gothic, this is my attempt to define the Gothic.

Some discussion of the use of the Persuasion skill in a campaign concentrating on social conflict.

One of Robin’s rare contributions to the blog; a definition of Romanticism in the Byron/Keats/Shelley sense vs. the modern definition of romance.

Savage Worlds stats for George Gordon, Lord Byron.
 
Thornshire
A micro-setting for Regency/Gothic.  Put Pride and Prejudice, Wuthering Heights, and Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norrell in a blender with a bunch of random tables from Tales of the Grotesque and Dungeonesque, and voila!

Regency/Gothic: Thornshire
An introduction to the setting, laying out geography, several of the haunted families of Thornshire, and influences.

Detailing more of the haunted families of the shire.

Not actually about the families of Thornshire, but instead a secret cabal of white magicians who hold back the darkness.

 

No comments:

Post a Comment

I Want Edopunk

I didn’t back 7 th Sea: Khitai for three reasons: 1) I honestly haven’t gotten much use out of my 7 th Sea 2 nd Edition books so far...